5 Awesome Fictitious Bands


Here at Riffraf it’s no surprise that we have a penchant for awesome fictitious bands. Our mantra is, “The phonier, the better.”

Not really.

But as much as we get off on solid real-to-life bands, a good fictitious band can be tons of fun as well as life inspiring. The Commitments, Marvin Berry & The Starlighters, Sonic Death Monkey, Barry Jive and the Uptown Five, Kathleen Turner Overdrive, Citizen Dick, Autobahn and Randy Watson and Sexual Chocolate are some of our favorites who might be featured in a post down the road but for now…

Here are five awesome fictitious bands:


Indie Spotlight: Tall Tall Trees


Tall Tall Trees is Mike Savino, a New York musician who makes the banjo psychedelic. He uses violin bows, drum mallets and electronic toys to create different sounds on his “banjotron,” a heavy modified open back banjo of his own design which allows him to loop and layer a variety of instruments, enriching his sound. Savino is unorthodox and innovative, effortlessly blending a contemporary aesthetic with folk genres that include bluegrass and Middle Eastern sounds.

Muddy Waters_05

Top 5 Slide Guitarists

It’s a sound that has defined blues and rock: Slide guitar. Whether you prefer open G or open E, or brass or glass, the slide has a unique sound all its own.

Today, we’re featuring our Top 5 Slide Guitarists.


Larry Graham Is The Man

Credited with pioneering the slap technique, legendary bassist Larry Graham celebrates his 68th birthday today. Although Mr. Graham refers to his technique as “thumpin’ and pluckin’” rather than “slappin’,”nevertheless Larry Graham is a true funk master and we at Riffraf love our bass players.

Alternative. Indie. Punk. Pop. R&B. Folk. Rock. Riffraf. Copyright © 2012-2013
Richard Fulco, Founder and Editor
Site developed by Calvin C. Williams
Powered by WordPress